Growing

Today I was introduced to a video of Leonard Cohen singing in Israel on youtube , http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CGu3SLzTKU8.

One of the lines from that song is  “There is a crack in everything, that’s how the light gets in.”

When our hearts are broken open through some event, it may hurt.  And yet because of the opening, the heart is able to expand into greater knowing about love.  I have experienced this several times in my life.

The first time that I recall having this experience was in 1990 when I went to a reunion of a group I belonged to as a teen.  You know that cosmic 2″x4″ that hits you upside the head?  That experience led to me growing, and becoming aware of myself.  And it was the beginning of the end of my marriage of 25 years.  Through that ending I discovered that love will show up in ways one would not have imagined.  It’s like the love dam opens up for all it’s worth. “Love” pulls out all the stops.

Today I had that experience again, listening to this song.  My heart opened wide and, even though feeling hurt,  I sent blessings to the ‘lost one’.   Without the opening, it’s impossible to do that.  I’m sure that the other person is hurting, too, and that a crack has opened for the light to get in for greater growth in love.

Interesting, isn’t it that spring has come, and it’s a time for new growth…

One thought on “Growing”

  1. Su, This is so beautiful. When I was a child I shot up to my full height by age 10 and suffered what the doctor called “growing pains” in my knees. When my heart hurts in pain of loss and grief, I know I am growing again, in ways no human doctor can understand. Joy and happiness ride into the heart on the light. Love, Bobbie

Leave a Reply

