Summer Solstice – June 22, 2010

I feel a special connection to the Summer Solstice because it’s almost always the day before my birthday.  On this particular solstice day I set my alarm for 3:00 a.m. and headed out on the highway at 3:50 a.m. for my sunrise appointment at Chimney Rock.  As I arrived at the gathering spot at ‘first light’ I saw a couple of meteors in the sky.  The place has a very special energy.

Chimney Rock is a protected pre-Puebloan site under the supervision of the U.S. Forest Service, located between Pagosa Springs and Bayfield, CO.  In addition to viewing the sunrise, the group of 31 individuals attending also were given a tour of the site, including archaeological remains of housing and a ceremonial kiva.  The tour also included a presentation of how these ancient people might have determined the points of the cardinal directions and the placements of the sun at any given time.

I give my attention to the changing of the seasons and the monthly moon cycle, especially the new moon, as I was born on a new moon.  I plan to attend at least one of the full moon walks at Chimney Rock this summer.  Later in July there is going to be a Native American celebration at the kiva with ceremony and dancing.  And I plan to be there, too!

Leave a Reply

