A Gem of a Week

I’ve been busy since my last post with a ‘secret’ activity (that I’ll reveal soon) – so I haven’t had much else to write about.  But last Wednesday my sister arrived in town to visit me and experience her first Tucson Gem and Mineral Show.

After some rest on the day after her arrival, we went to the west side of town to see the offerings of the vendors open to the general public.  My sister was looking for items she could form into the silver necklaces, bracelets and earrings she creates.  She works with silver wire and chain, creating her own silver findings and stringing semi-precious stone beads into jewelry.  I work with seed beads, creating beaded bezels and bales for cabochons, beading earrings,  and stringing beads into necklaces, bracelets, and earrings.  I’m always on the lookout for unusual items, including clasps.

On Friday and Saturday we walked, and looked, and bought, and complained of sore feet and hips, while on the hunt for our ‘pretties’.   In the past I’ve gone to the shows with my friend – she always had done the driving.  This time, my sister rented a car and agreed to drive as long as the route wasn’t too complicated.  So in a way this was my first time to the show ‘on my own’, too.  We managed to get to the show locations at good times, and find a parking space without much trouble.

On the days we weren’t shopping (Thursday, Sunday, and Tuesday) we hung out in the sunshine and drank wine in the afternoon, and had great Greek food, Sonoran hotdogs and wicked margaritas, iced coffee, and strong morning coffee with sweetener and milk. We took a road trip to Tubac, Tumacacori and Patagonia.  Every day was filled with beautiful weather and great company.  We had the opportunity to share insights from our lives and compare notes about our experiences.

I can’t wait for when she comes back for her next visit!  And in the interim perhaps I’ll find a way to visit her side of the world again in Maryland.

3 thoughts on “A Gem of a Week”

    1. Just to clarify, I’m still in my trailer (which is now for sale). I’ve put a contract on a townhouse and expect to close the end of the month. If the trailer doesn’t sell by rally time I’ll be towing it to Deming for storage. It’s quite a transition!

Leave a Reply

