Grand Canyon Land – From the Edge

And you know that unless you take a tour into the Canyon, you only see it from the edge!

011 croppedI spent two nights at Desert View campground, 25 miles east of the main ‘action’ at the Canyon. The campground has 56 sites and for me as a senior with a park pass, it was a total of $12 for my stay. After arriving and resting for the first night, I woke early the next day, ready to explore. At 6:00 a.m. I was at the Desert Watch Tower, and from there I meandered toward the Grand Canyon Visitor Center, stopping in all the overlooks to take in the vistas.

At the Visitor Center I parked and got on one of the free shuttles that take you into the market area. From there I transferred to the Hermits Rest ‘red’ line for all the stops along the Canyon south rim. As I’m usually the one taking pictures I’m seldom in any of them. But I did manage to have a couple of me made with the Canyon in the background.

I enjoyed a little playful exchange with a tall, dark, handsome, gregarious man from California. He was taking a photo for someone else and I told him he did such a good job that I’d like for him to take my photo too. He pleasantly accommodated my request. Later he and his family were having their photo taken by someone just as I walked by. And he called out to me that he could get his photo made too! I told him he was really talented!!! Looking back I wish I’d gotten off the bus at the next stop he did – I might have had more opportunity to flirt. One of his family members asked me if I was getting off and I said I’d catch the stop on the turn-around trip. Sigh…

015In the Lipan Point overlook I met a geologist and another man who were photographing the Canyon, I suspect for some kind of research. When I commented that it was hazy he advised me that in records from previous explorers in the 1800s there was mention of the haziness in the Canyon. So while there has been some influx of pollution brought by way of California and Arizona, there is enough moisture in the Canyon to create haze. I noticed that toward the end of the day some of that haze had dissipated.

I was particularly delighted to experience what seemed to be the vultures playing with me. As one and then two flew close by, into the curve of one of the precipices I was standing on, I tried to photograph them. I didn’t get very good shots. But the more I tried, the more they circled around me (and NO, I wasn’t dead or dying!) and even more showed up – all totaled around six. It was like the more I enjoyed them, the more they wanted to be there. Later as I exited the bus to go back home a man caught my attention and pointed to a condor that was flying nearby. Now I’m wondering if I saw condors or vultures; whatever they were, they were amazing.

175

The Colorado River runs through it!

039

202

The Watch Tower is in background

200

134

Throughout the day, at each of the stops I was mindful of the vantage point for my photos and I took the opportunity to expand on viewing the Canyon from the edge. More will come about that as I allow the experience to sink in further.

094

Although I’m posting in this blog, being mindful of being on the ‘edge’ at this wonder of the world, I think about the views from the edge that might belong in the other one! I took so many pictures it’s hard to choose which ones to share. These are just a taste.

2 thoughts on “Grand Canyon Land – From the Edge”

Leave a Reply

